Return to Headlines


Article from: Spring Hill Schools  

The Kansas State Department of Education recently announced the 2023 Kansas Horizon Award recipients, including Woodland Spring Middle teacher Cooper Allison. Allison joined Spring Hill Schools for the 2021-22 school year, and is now in her second year of teaching.

“I am so honored to have been chosen as one of the Horizon Award recipients this year,” said Allison. “I am so lucky to be surrounded by incredible educators who have invested in me and have played a vital role in my first two years as a teacher. I am proud to represent USD 230 and am beyond grateful for every colleague, mentor, student, and parent who has supported and encouraged me. You know you've picked the right career when you wake up each day excited to go to work!”

32 first-year educators from Kansas are being recognized for their exemplary performance during their first year in the classroom through the 2023 Kansas Horizon Award program. Recipients of this year’s award were notified of their selection by Kansas Commissioner of Education Dr. Randy Watson.

“We are fortunate to have such outstanding teachers in our state’s classrooms,” Watson said. “I want to commend all 32 Horizon Award recipients. Because of them, we move closer to our vision of leading the world in the success of each student.”

The Kansas Horizon Award program, sponsored by KSDE, gives all school districts in the state an opportunity to nominate one elementary and one secondary teacher for the award. The program is a regional competition with four regions corresponding to the state’s U.S. congressional districts. Four elementary and four secondary classroom teachers may be selected for the award from each region.

Congratulations Ms. Allison!