USD 230 Approved for Launch

USD 230 Approved for Launch
Posted on 07/31/2019

State Board of Education approves USD 230 launch plan

The Kansas State Board of Education on Tuesday, July 9, 2019 approved 71 schools in 30 districts – including Prairie Creek Elementary School (PCES) and Spring Hill High School (SHHS) – to launch their Kansans Can School Redesign Project plans during the 2019-2020 school year.

The schools/ districts were announced Tuesday, July 9, during a Kansas State Board of Education meeting. The schools/districts are a mix of Gemini I and Gemini II schools that applied to be a part of the Kansans Can School Redesign Project.

Gemini I schools applied to be a part of the project prior to the 2017-2018 school year, and upon acceptance, were given the option of planning for one year or two years prior to launching. Gemini I schools cleared for launch during the upcoming school year chose to take two years to plan before launching.

The Gemini II schools applied and were accepted into the project prior to the 2018-2019 school year and were given one year to plan prior to launching.

The approved Gemini I and Gemini II schools participated in regional redesign workshops during the 2018-2019 school year and were cleared for launch by a Launch Readiness Committee, which was comprised of representatives from the Kansas State Department of Education (KSDE) and educational service centers. At the last workshop in May, schools presented their launch plans to the committee, and then the committee recommended a “Go” or a “No Go” (or not yet) for launch in the 2019-2020 school year.

“We are so proud of the dedication and determination of our employees at PCES and SHHS to make this launch a reality. They have worked hard to provide a new approach to student learning and all of our students will benefit from this process.” said Dr. Wayne Burke, USD 230 Superintendent.

The Kansans Can School Redesign Project was created in 2017 in support of Kansas’ vision for education, which is Kansas leads the world in the success of each student. Kansas school districts were invited to apply to become one of seven districts selected for the first phase of the redesign project, Mercury 7. KSDE received 29 applications, and in August 2017, the seven selected districts, each representing one of the Mercury 7 astronauts, were announced. The seven districts (14 schools) launched their redesign plans during the 2018-2019 school year.

Since then, three more phases have been announced – Gemini I, Gemini II and Apollo.

For more information on PCES and SHHS being approved for launch, contact

For more information about the Kansans Can School Redesign Project, visit

A full list of schools/districts approved at the July Board of Education meeting is attached.


Districts and schools approved to launch their Kansans Can School Redesign Project plans during the 2019-2020 school year are:


Andover Unified School District 385

  • Cottonwood Elementary School
  • Meadowlark Elementary School
  • Robert Martin Elementary School
  • Andover Central Middle School

Basehor-Linwood USD 458

  • Basehor Elementary School, K-2
  • Basehor Intermediate School
  • Basehor-Linwood High School

Caldwell USD 360

  • Caldwell Elementary School
  • Caldwell Secondary School

Canton-Galva USD 419

  • Canton-Galva Elementary School

    Cedar Vale USD 285

  • Cedar Vale Elementary School
  • Cedar Vale Memorial High School

Chaparral USD 361

  • Chaparral Junior-Senior High School

    Clay County USD 379

  • Garfield Elementary School
  • Clay Center Community High School
  • Wakefield Elementary School
  • Wakefield High School

Hillsboro USD 410

  • Hillsboro Elementary School
  • Hillsboro Middle-High School

Emporia USD 253

  • William Allen White Elementary School

    Fredonia USD 484

  • Lincoln Elementary School
  • Fredonia Junior-Senior High School

Halstead Bentley USD 440

  • Halstead High School
  • Halstead Middle School

Haven USD 312

  • Haven High School
  • Haven Grade School
  • Yoder Charter School

Haviland USD 474

  • Haviland Grade School, K-8

    Kingman-Norwich USD 331

  • Kingman Elementary School
  • Kingman Middle School

Lakin USD 215

  • Lakin Grade School
  • Lakin Middle School
  • Lakin High School

Leavenworth USD 453

  • David Brewer Elementary School
  • Leavenworth High School

Liberal USD 480

  • Seymour Rogers Middle School
  • Eisenhower Middle School

Little River-Windom USD 444

  • Windom Elementary School
  • Little River Junior-Senior High School

Lyons USD 405

  • Central Elementary School
  • Park Elementary School
  • Lyons Middle School

Neodesha USD 461

  • North Lawn Elementary School
  • Heller Elementary School
  • Neodesha Middle-High School

Newton USD 373

  • Slate Creek Elementary School
  • Chisholm Middle School

North Lyon County USD 251

  • North Lyon County Elementary School
  • Northern Heights High School

Osawatomie USD 367

  • Swenson Early Childhood Education Center
  • Trojan Elementary School
  • Osawatomie Middle School

Ottawa USD 290

  • Garfield Elementary School
  • Lincoln Elementary School
  • Sunflower Elementary School
  • Ottawa Middle School
  • Ottawa High School

Peabody-Burns USD 398

  • Peabody-Burns Elementary School
  • Peabody-Burns Middle School

Remington-Whitewater USD 206

  • Remington Elementary School
  • Remington Middle School
  • Remington High School

Renwick USD 267

  • Colwich Elementary School
  • Garden Plain High School

Spring Hill USD 230

  • Prairie Creek Elementary School
  • Spring Hill High School

Wichita USD 259

  • Cessna Elementary School
  • Chester Lewis Academic Learning Center

Winfield USD 465

  • Irving Elementary School
  • Country View Elementary School
  • Winfield Middle School
Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2020 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.