2021 District Teachers of the Year

2021 District Teachers of the Year
Posted on 04/10/2020
Teacher of the YearThe Spring Hill School District is proud to announce its 2021 District Teachers of the Year, Katie Smith at Timber Sage Elementary School and Mary Larson at Spring Hill High School.

Each year the Kansas State Department of Education sponsors a statewide competition looking for an outstanding teacher to become its Teacher of the Year. The Spring Hill School District is given the opportunity to nominate an elementary and secondary teacher to compete at the state level. This also provides the district the opportunity to recognize teachers at all buildings who exemplify the finest in the profession.

"We are honored to recognize our amazing educators who exemplify excellence in their field," said Dr. Wayne Burke, superintendent. 

Each building established a review committee to select their nominee for the district competition. The following teachers were nominated by their peers and selected for excellence in teaching at their buildings. 
  • Prairie Creek Elementary School - Megan Evans
  • Timber Sage Elementary School - Katie Smith
  • Wolf Creek Elementary School - Kathy Blanchard
  • Spring Hill Elementary School - Molly Campbell
  • Spring Hill Middle School - Chris Edstrom
  • Woodland Spring Middle School - Megan Sandberg
  • Spring Hill High School - Mary Larson

Smith and Larson will represent the district in the statewide competition. This competition requires preparing an extensive packet, which includes essays on teaching philosophy, professional background, community involvement, student learning activities and more. If selected at the state level, they will serve as an ambassador for and work to support ongoing improvements in Kansas education.

portrait of mary larson
Mary Larson, SHHS

portrait of katie smith
Katie Smith, TSES